Copa del Rey's History

Today very few people or almost nobody knows the Championship of Spain-Cup of His Majesty the King of Soccer or Republic Cup as it was renamed in 1931, we will not hear the Generalist Cup was called in 1940 and other names that we don't know, but finally again in 1977 until today we summarize in The Copa del Rey. Now we are more familiar with this national competition organized by the Spanish Football Federation, which includes the 84 best Spanish teams at the time. It was created in 1903 following the coronation of Alfonso XIII. Is the oldest championship in Spain and the winning club holds the status neither more nor less than champion of Spain. An important point,  despite the participation of many teams, only 14 of them managed to raise the Cup of the King.

A year before the Federation took over the organization of the championship, the first tournament was held by the brothers Padros, the founders of the current club of Real Madrid. Only three teams participated in the first tournament (Club Espanyol representing Catalonia, Madrid Football representing the center and Vizcaya representing the northern region). The champion was the team of Vizcaya (now named Athletic Bilbao), the team defeated the football club Madrid, finishing the match a score of 3-2. After this tournament was born club Atletico Madrid.


The First Titles

Before the Federation, took over the reins of the Copa del Rey , there was a lot of disorganization on the part of the Madrid Association of Football Clubs, such disorder that in 1904 Athletic de Bilbao became champion even without disputing a game, logically there was a lot of debate for who was to be the champion for months, in the following years, the basques and madrileños people  were divided the titles, being the Real Madrid is the first team to receive the Cup in property wining four consecutive years from 1905 to 1908.

We tell you about the features and rules of the tournament the Copa del Rey. The rules of the tournament establish that each time a club wins the competition three times in a row or five alternates, and before another club achieves it, it receives the trophy in property, and from the following edition the possession of a new one is disputed. Meanwhile, each winner receives a replica of it. Only five of the champions have distributed thirteen trophies in possession.

In the year 1909 were also created the Regional Championships, which ones were very useful in deciding who would represent their region in the Copa del Rey. Until that year all the cups had been disputed and organized in Madrid, but they decided that the winning team  would be in charge of the organization of the following one that, year champion was Ciclista football Club (Real Sociedad actual) but they didn't accept the ideas of Federation, meant that they provided the equipment of the capital. They decided to create two national tournaments, one organized by the Spanish Federation and another by the Spanish Union, it was so much the disorder that they ended up focusing more on politics and territorial problems that they decided to sign the momentary peace until it appeared FC Barcelona in 1913 with similar problems to other clubs more focused on the capital, than the rest of the country. They returned to play two Cup championships, but rectify is wise and finally the Federation took power and order and focused on a single tournament, La Copa del Rey.

Real Madrid and FC Barcelona

Since the Federation took the order to avoid future problems as in the past, they created a system of order and classification following 10 regions, it was from the twenties that the cup was becoming important, but then in 1929 La Liga appeared, leaving the Copa del Rey in the background. Unfortunately in 1936 the national competitions were suspended by the Civil War, although the football activity was not the same because the small tournaments were held in the regions, but many matches were directed against the civil war and football became already a more political protest, rather than just a sports competition, also due to the Civil War there were many changes in the names of the teams and the determinations like 'foot-ball' were replaced by translating it directly into Spanish, for example: Madrid Foot-ball Club happened to be Real Madrid Club de Futbol. Football was in the shadows for three years until in 1939 Seville won the final against Racing de Ferrol, which led to the resurrection of the Copa del Rey. In 1940 the regional championships were eliminated, giving way to a national level championships, where participate clubs with the better position in La Liga, in this way the 14 teams of Primera División, the 24 of Segunda División and the 6 best of Tercera División. As the years went by, and it was time for players like Telmo Zarra (Athletic Bilbao) who scored 81 goals in 74 games, Zarra and Jose Luis Paniso, who achieved the third Cup for Athletic Bilbao, also Andoni Subizarreta who until the end of 1997 participated in the greatest number of times in La Copa del Rey.

La Copa del Rey is a non-stop of playoffs because we find a lot of modest Segunda Division teams with the players will tell their grandsons that they stepped on Santiago Bernabeu Stadium or Camp Nou facing a big football team while sharing sport with their usual work.

Nowadays La Copa del Rey has taken a more importance for the number of titles achieved at the end of the season by big clubs, but unfortunately there is still politics in football. Leading to the end of many problems in today's finals where you can get to hear whistles when the Spanish anthem sounds.

Neither in its early days, nor much less now, will be an easy Champioship to organize, but the  Spanish football would not be the same without those matches during the week, where you can see a third's clubs compete in mythical stadiums. Following we leave the winning clubs and the number of Copa del Rey: Football Club Barcelona 38 finals 28 titles, Athletic Club de Bilbao 37 finals and 23 titles, Real Madrid 39 finals and 19 titles, Atletico Madrid 19 finals and 10 titles, Valencia CF 16 finals and 7 titles, Zaragoza FC 11 finals and 6 titles , Sevilla FC 8 finals and 5 titles, RCDEspanyol 9 finals and 4 titles, Real Sociedad 6 finals and 2 titles, Real Betis 4 finals and 2 titles, Deportivo La Coruña 2 finals and 2 titles, Arenas Club de Guecho 4 finals 1 title , RC Mallorca 3 finals 1 title.

The story follows and football as well. La Copa del Rey was left in the background by La Liga, but because we continue to ignore it? And the question arises, where? In the stadium of the third or the first we actually can breathe the real football of our lands.